Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

factory sub to an aftermarket HU's rear speaker outputs?

6K views 40 replies 6 participants last post by  laserguy 
#1 ·
Hi, I just picked up a used 2007 Ridgeline RTS. It came with a Pioneer AVH-P3200BT head unit:

http://www.crutchfield.ca/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=130P3200BT

It appears as though the factory subwoofer has been disconnected when the deck was installed. This deck has a feature that you can use the rear speaker chanels for a subwoofer. Would I be able to pull the deck out and hook up the subwoofer cables to the rear speaker outputs?

I'm a total newb at this, if this is possible can anyone tell me how to go about hooking up the sub to the head unit in this manner? Is it just speaker wires or RCA's back there or maybe a harness?

Thanks for any help!

#2 ·
You can but that isn't the best option. The factory headunit has a built in amp and a extra channel for said subwoofer. Your new HU has neither. You'll need a small low grade amp to wire into the woofer to get it to work.

The best option is just flat out replacing the old subwoofer.

#3 ·
Does the 3200 have sub preamp output? If so, you can also go for a powered sub (ie; Bazooka, Sound Ordnance, etc.)

#4 ·
This would give you much better bass than keeping the OEM sub which would include having to add an amp somewhere. The Bazooka's amp is built in!

The 6" Bazooka fits in the OEM space, but make sure to buy the Powered Bazooka, not the Passive one (no amp).

#5 · (Edited)
All good options have been mentioned.

Based on this info about the HU.
CEA2006 Specs: 14 watts RMS x 4 channels (at 4 ohms, 20Hz-20kHz, 1% THD-N)
Continuous Power Output: 22 watts RMS x 4 channels (at 4 ohms, 50Hz-15kHz, 5% THD)
Maximum Power Output: 50 watts x 4 channels (or 50 watts x 2 channels at 4 ohms + 70 watts x 1 channel at 2 ohms for subwoofer)

Looks like if you do not want to add an amp for the sub outputs you can: