Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
06 Ridgeline weird transmission stuff

EDIT: Please ignore everything I said about maybe changing the engine. I was confused. The transmission's the issue! Thanks.

--------------------------------------------

Hi all, new guy here. My background is I’m “handy” but no mechanic, fyi. Love my truck.

My 06 Ridgeline has 175k miles. The transmission is failing. I got the hint when I started hearing a noise under the vehicle whenever I put it in park. Took it to both the dealer and an independent garage, they both told me same news. I need a new transmission. Currently I can still drive the truck, no gear slippage as of yet, but it’s just a matter of time.

Quote from dealer was $6,000+ for installing a remanufactured transmission. A transmission specialty shop in my area quoted me $4,000 for installing an aftermarket.

Here’s my question. Would I be better off simply replacing the old engine with a new (used) Ridgeline engine? At some point I’ll have to get my old engine rebuilt, anyway. That'll be on top of the $4k-6k. So instead of replacing the tranny why not just replace the engine, preferably one with lower miles?

I looked around and LKQ plus one other place in Massachusetts have engines. One’s an 06, one’s an 07. Both have about 70k miles, and each are about the same price, $2,500. I’d have to drive round trip Virginia-MA to pick up the engine and haul it back to VA for installation but it’s doable. I maybe could also have the engine shipped.

Pros? Cons? What would you do? All thoughts appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
38 Posts
PS I'm the original owner. Have done every recommended/required maintenance the owner's manual has told me to do. Last time transmission fluid was replaced was I believe three months ago at the dealer at my request, per the manual.