Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving my 2008 Ridgeline in Dallas for the last 8 years. No off-road or towing. Light hauling on local streets & freeways. I'm ready to buy a 2017 model. Will I notice a difference if I buy the less expensive 2-wheel drive option?

·
Super Moderator
2006 Ridgeline RTS in Steel Blue
7,262 Posts
Possibly better MPG, some reports of "Hesitation", when accelerating & turning, lower towing capacity & possibly lower resale, down the road & your limited to purchasing an RTL-T or below both RTL-E & BE are AWD only.

·
Super Moderator
1,557 Posts
You are exactly the customer they released the 2wd model for. One who doesn't need it and really asks themselves if they do need it.

Steve

·
Registered
4,140 Posts
Personally I would not touch a FWD Ridgeline with a 10 foot pole.
I strictly would get AWD in any SUV/CUV vehicle.
It's a $1,900 difference in price with AWD option. I am still baffled why Honda went FWD route with Ridgeline. As said before they can get away with it in the MDX & Pilot a bit more. The hit you will take when you get rid of the vehicle most people are looking for 4WD/AWD trucks. A car/minivan is different than a pickup truck. Just my opinion but gutting a G2 Ridgeline of it's Torque Vectoring AWD capabilities is robing this truck of one of it's key attributes.
But I would read the press release kit of the G2 Ridgeline carefully Powertrain section to be specific. It's AWD enhances handling and AWD aids in traction.
Dallas area is not immune to heavy rain or snow storms adverse weather you may need that AWD in some point. Last year at this same time Washington, DC was dealing with the Snowzilla storm Jan22-23 across the area 1-3 feet of snow fell. DC in the city got 20inches some other areas got near 40inches.
Now that snow just doesn't get plowed of goes away that fast.