Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, i am new to the thread and have read thru many of them about the trailer wiring issues. Spent 4 hours yesterday trying to trouble shoot the issue. get no power to the rear harness plug. after reading up on it, i installed fuses in the aux fuse box near the driver side firewall. i located the relays under the dash and only see 3 of them. do i need the 4th to complete the circuit? im pretty mechanically inclined but this has me stumped. please help

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I printed out the manual from Honda and its a bit confusing. Im thinking a connector is unplugged under the dash or the relay is missing. I get power to all of the aux fuse slots and seem to get nothing to the back of the truck. i cant see a wire being shorted out.

·
Registered
888 Posts
there are two relays that must be installed under the dash. They should have been in the wiring harness kit from Honda. The one above the steering column is a bear to find and reach.

·
Registered
5,620 Posts
Beware! I believe there may be more than one harness specified for 2006 RLs... and you need to go by VIN to be sure you have the right one? Contact the guys at H&A (handa.com) to verify you have the correct one (if you haven't already verified by VIN). They are pretty well versed in this subject over there.
I know this changed over the 2006-2009 period, but I don't recall for sure if there was more than one in 2006 (I think there was at one point).

You ARE using OEM harness, correct? If not, your best bet is to rip out whatever you have in there & put in the OEM harness. There is a myriad of issues reported that end up being associated with aftermarket trailer harness.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6