Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, first post as a a matter of fact!!

I'm buying a 2008 Ridgeline RTL. Going to pick it up later today or tomorrow.

So here is my audio question. The PO of the truck replaced the stock head unit with a cheap Pioneer single DIM unit. I hate how the kit looks, and it's a bargain basement model. Luckily the person buying my previous daily driver did not want the stereo I had installed in it, so I retained. It's a super nice Pioneer double DIN with HD, XM, etc.

To install it in the Ridgeline I know I'll need a trim kit, I'm assuming the Schosche is the one to get, right? I'll need a wiring harness. No problem. But here are my two questions:

• The truck has the XM radio "puck" on the roof. Where does that antenna cable terminate? Is it all the way to the head unit? Or does it just go to an XM add-on module hidden somewhere behind a panel? Anyone used the stock XM puck with an aftermarket deck?
  • Subwoofer, do I have one? Did all the RTLs in 2008 come with the sub? It's behind the rear seat on the passenger seat, right? I know it's kind of weak, but it will do for a while. If it's there, that is.
Anything I else I need to know? Any other Ridgeline peculiar things I should know before swapping head units?

BTW, super excited to get the truck. It's a 2008, but only has 33K on it. Near spotless, interior is near mint.

·
Premium Member
1,795 Posts
Hey lefty. Great choice on the RL RTL. You will not be sorry. The more you drive, the more you'll find it to be in a class of its own.

Your RTL does have the factory sub exactly where you mentioned. Having recently jumped into a multi-phase system upgrade I am of the opinion the factory sub gets a bad rap - for reasons I can't explain. In my soon-to-change configuration, the 8 year old factory sub is doing yeoman's work filling the missing bottom end supplied by 4 aftermarket 6 3/4" woofers.