Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive my question that has probably been asked before; I'm a newbie, really love my 2012 Ridgeline. It's a bare-bones model, i think an RT (can't find the model designation anywhere). I need to tow a 6x12 trailer one-way to move my Navy son and wife to base in a couple of days. We discovered I don't have the mounted plug for the wiring on the bumper - instead, there's a connector hanging underneath from one of the tail lights. I cannot figure out what I need for a wiring package to hook up a U-haul. It being after Christmas, I can't afford $200 for a part I'm using once. Can anyone dumb this down for me?
Thanks,

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
So you have a hitch, but no trailer wiring?

Uhaul may have a temp solution for you as they do this kind of stuff all day long for "one time" users. The other option is to bite the bullet and install the factory wiring harness and be done with it...and then you will be prepared for next time. I realize you are thinking that pulling this trailer is a one time shot, but I have a suspicion that you will find many other uses for trailers in the future. That's my experience.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I appreciate the reply. Here's what I ended up doing: I bought the T-One Vehicle Wiring Harness with 4-Pole Flat Trailer Connector online and had it rushed in overnight, total was under a hundred dollars. It took about a half-hour to install - very easy, the hardest part was securing the wiring to the bumper and making sure the exhaust didn't melt it. It worked great. I save $100 and a 50 mile trip to the nearest dealer that had the model specific harness in stock. http://www.etrailer.com/t1-2012_Honda_Ridgeline.htm

·
Registered
115 Posts