Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here posting after purchasing a 2018 RTL-E CPO Ridge the first week of March. About 53,600 miles on her, looks to be in beautiful condition but...on delivery the truck started the continuous loop of error messages (lit up like a Christmas tree, as it is said) right with the salesman in the car. Also wouldn't go faster than about 20 mph. He tried various resets, then drove it back to the dealership. They delivered it again later the same day, and they said it had finally just stopped on its own, and said it might have been from getting the engine wet during reconditioning. (Uh, right.) Saturday, same thing happened and multiple powering on and off didn't clear it. VIN ends with 18308. Maybe I should have paid $4000 more and gone with a new Sport? I need a reliable truck as I'll be pulling a travel trailer far from home on my own. Did I make a mistake buying this truck?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
FWIW, dealer said they had no service slots for a week, but they will work me in tomorrow. Any advice appreciated: I know it will heavily depend on error codes, might be corrosion in a connector. Wondering if these 2018s had any pattern similar to the rear harness connector issue for earlier Ridges? Could a 2018 have the camshaft issue?

·
Registered
482 Posts
Did you see a vehicle history when you bought the truck? Assuming there is nothing in the history what you described could have many causes, some innocuous, others serious.

Either way don't panic, all used vehicles have issues. Hell, many NEW vehicles have issues. Its a CPO, so you will likely be covered. Once you get an actual diagnosis, check back in with us.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Often when the dash really lights up, it's electrical, usually loose battery cables or a dying battery.