Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i just learned about the rear mic in my 2017RL and its part of honda's ANC.

I proof my studio mixes in my car audio and lately i have been beating my head against the wall over some stuff that i normally have no problem with......which got me to thinking.

What is this ANC doing when i drive and listen to my mixes?

What does this do to the audio playback in our trucks? Is it shaping and reshaping the sound at ALL? Even the tiniest bit?

Is there an easy way to disable it?

If its changing the sound of my audio in the least then i have a BIG problem!

D

·
Registered
998 Posts
I'm not an expert but I belive it reacts to engine, trans, and road noise. Not music.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,727 Posts
Why I'm going RTL and putting in my own audio. I play all my studio work in my vehicle, looking for mistakes, adjustments, etc before we send things off to press.

You can get a line converter but it would take more expertise than I have. I have problems getting midi to work with everything we use in the studio. :(

·
Registered
455 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am now curious to see if there is a way to disable it...just so i can hear with my own ears what this ANC is doing, if anything.

If its listening....then it has to be doing something.

·
Registered
86 Posts
My assumption would be that system audio passes through the ANC, and it knows to "listen" for anything outside those frequencies and to work to cancel them.

So while it wouldn't be changing the source music, it is most certainly coloring the sound reproduction if it pics up any sounds not part of the outgoing mix, since it uses the same speakers and listening environment where you're proofing your mix.