Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I checked other posts but couldn't find what I was looking for so hopefully a new post will help me out, as I'm not a mechanic
Recently had P0420, P0430 codes and decided to have my mechanic replace all 3 cats. Had to get it back to him after a day because there is obviously, very loudly, an exhaust leak. He knew it was a gasket. I'm concerned he tried to reuse the old ones and/or never got new ones for the job. Now, weeks later he has been trying to find correct gaskets...The dealer told him he needed this O-shaped gasket (#8 in drawing), that maybe it was an aftermarket cat to begin with and maybe it doesn't need it or it is different. . . and he (my mechanic) is telling me that my exhaust does not require this type, instead he purchased and is planning on only replacing the triangular shaped one (not shown in drawing but goes where the pipes meet near where the O-gasket does), along with the gasket coming out of the engine (#2 in drawing). Has anyone replaced these parts or can anyone verify that I may or may not need this O-shaped gasket? I asked him to please get the O-gaskets just in case we need them but he insists it is not required. He is going to work on it tomorrow...
'07 RTX

Premium Member
2010 RT - Bali Blue
So, if your mechanic replaced all three catalytic converters, then you would have needed
  • 2 Qty of 18212-SA7-003 - the O-gasket (illustration #8)
  • 2 Qty of 18115-RCA-A01 - the oval gasket that goes on the cyl head (illustration #2)
  • 1 Qty of 18302-SP0-003 (illustration # 12)
  • 1 Qty of 18393-SDB-A00 (illustration #14)

I would say let him, or you, order the above parts, see the correct position of those in the FSM and their corresponding torque value on the bolts and call it a day.