Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have finally had it with the OEM headunit. Most people find it pretty good, but it is NO comparison to a high-quality aftermarket deck. Although there is a wiring harness available, there is no dash kit, so it's going to ba a full custom job. Of course, Honda has put an oddbal sized headunit (extra-wide double-din ??), so it follows that using the factory brackets probably won't work. Also, the problem of filling the hole where the OEM headunit was, with something more appealing than black ABS or speaker carpet-covered MDF. I've been installing audio and security systems as a hobby for 15 years, but any pointers or tips would help................Anyone ?

·
Premium Member
7,332 Posts
I can't help on the head unit replacement, but I'm wondering why you think the head unit is the problem. I've done some fairly extensive testing and find both the frequency accuracy and response of the head unit is outstanding.

You can test the CD player via a test CD, and the FM section via a FM modulator, signal generator, and o-scope. We never tested the AM or XM sections.

The only "problem" I found with the head unit was that I couldn't EQ it to my liking, but if you like sound the way it was recorded the factory unit (in the RTL at least) is pretty (nearly perfectly) accurate. I could only get the frequencies down to four decimal places but it always accurate to the third and fourth decimal place. Depending on the frequency that's less that 0.1% THD. Not bad for a high end unit.

We were never able to test the speed of the frequency response but it's difficult to imagine that would be a problem on such an integrated unit.

Have you tried different speakers? It really makes a huge difference. Yes, we need more power but that's just adding an amp.

Why do you think the head unit is the problem? Just interested.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Joe: