Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just finished buttoning up the truck from the backup camera install. I've been putting this off for a while and now I know why. I'm no newbie to running wires and such, but this one took a bit longer than I anticipated.

This is a wired install in the tailgate handle. The biggest challenges were getting the wire routed from the tailgate to the headunit in the dash. I followed TMKRunner's excellent pictures until I realized he was not routing an RCA cable. The hole that enters below the B-pillar is not large enough for an RCA jack. Not sure how everyone was able to fit the RCA plug through the hole just aft of that one, but I had to use a 1/2" drill bit to open the hole leading into the truck where one of the door sill plastic fastener snaps in. Once inside the truck, it was relatively easy to route the cable through.

I owe htaddict a beer for his pictures on the reverse wire in this thread: http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/forums/showthread.php?p=258847#post258847. I found the harness and was able to tap into it near the connector. It helps to disconnect the lower harness and push it out of the way before disconnecting the top harness where the reverse wire sits. There's no way this colorblind guy would have found it in the large bundle of wires as htaddict did.

I tapped into the backup lights for the camera's power. The wire colors are actually counter-intuitive as someone on here said. Green is power and yellow (I think) is ground.