Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I only have 2000 miles on my 2019 RL-E and I noticed that the bottom and to a lesser extent on the sides of the oil pan are very corroded. By taping on the pan it doesn't sound very thick so I'm kind of worried about leaks down the road in a year or two. Has anyone else noticed this on their trucks? I'm sure I could get under there and wire brush it clean and paint it with something to slow down the rot , but it's like what the hell Honda this thing is not even a year old and I get this ! Any ideas on what's best to use on the spots that I can't get at and will work with the exhaust pipe being so close ? I've been crawling under cars for most of my 72 years and it's not fun anymore so any easy fixes would be wonderful.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'll try , but it may be a while till I can get some ramps and get it up high enough for good pics.
Just to give you an idea , the corrosion on the flat bottom is about 3/32" thick and does not rub off easily and looks just like alum. rot you see on any other alum. thats been out in the weather for 10 years. It should have some sort of protective coating when used in this location with the exposure to heat , salt , and water.

·
Registered
2,647 Posts
Probably doesn't help that the oil pan is barely above the minimum ground clearance and is unprotected from gravel and road debris. The RL is crying out for an engine skidplate...at least there are a couple aftermarket options for this.

·
Registered
804 Posts
the corrosion on the flat bottom is about 3/32" thick and does not rub off easily and looks just like alum. rot you see on any other alum. thats been out in the weather for 10 years.