Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are the newer cadence and and zapco amps any good, heard good things...Anybody running either of these mono amp

·
Premium Member
1,817 Posts
Historically speaking, Zapco established the high end of amplifiers & external processors in the mobile audio world. They literally stood alone as the reference standard, and other OEMs have been catching up since. Unlike many brands, they have maintained a strong resemblance to their lineage. Other brand names have come and gone, some "names" remain in business but have no relationship to their once excellent product offerings.

I have no experience with Cadence so can't comment there, but as a one time professional in the mobile audio business, I chose to purchase Zapco recently based on history and the excellent VALUE they offer today. At one time, the term "value" had no kinship with the Zapco name, but after research and now personal experience, I can say with confidence Zapco has wonderfully competitive products, offering value for the $ and state of the art in circuit design. It remains to be seen if they are as reliable as they once were. I can say this much, the pair of STX2's I'm running have been brutalized, pushed as hard as a mid-powered amp should ever be pushed while being exposed to ambient temperature extremes - and less than ideal installation orientation for MAX_HEAT_DISSAPATION. Driving a 2 ohm load, they'll deploy circuit protection appropriately when pushed too hard, and that's a really great thing as some amps are either triggered pre-maturely or not at all, resulting in self destruction.

The upper end of Zapco products are pricey indeed, but you get what you pay for. They compete with the best out there and seem to be relatively bullet proof in their current iteration.