Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I repo cable boxes for a living. A lot of these cable boxes come from nasty houses and have cockroaches. With regular pickup design the roaches are completely isolated from the cab. After two weeks of using my ridgeline for work, last night I had a roach in the cab. Specifically it came out of the air vent. If they can access the cab from the trunk, I may not be able to keep the truck.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would rather not leave this up for speculation. I would like to hear from someone who knows the design well enough to give a definitive yes or no. And if yes, maybe there is an area to be sealed off.

·
Registered
790 Posts
Yes there are vents in the trunk, I do not know if the connect to the cab because the cab has its own vents. For the vents in the trunk they are located all the way behind the spare tire a tight space but still can be sealed off.

·
Registered
2,518 Posts
The trunk doesn't not direct connect with the cab. There are vents behind the spare tire. The cab has vents behind the rear seat. But not connected and the air vent in the truck certainly is not connected to either of those two vent areas.

Hitchhiker

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
There is no way it came in through the cab. If it did it could easily get in any door weatherstripping on any car.

·
Premium Member
7,780 Posts
Yes, the roach could have migrated from the trunk into the cab via the air vents behind the rear seats / trunk area. As far as coming out of a air vent, the roach would have had to crawl through the air pressure relief vents between the trunk / behind the rear seats. Then made its way into the A/C ducting at some other location.

·
Super Moderator
2008 Ridgeline RTS in Billet Silver Metallic
22,582 Posts
The air vents behind the rear seat vent to the bed:

I know of no way critters can migrate directly from the trunk to the cabin.

·
Registered