Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a fairly new Utah resident as well as a new Ridgeline owner. I've been watching lots of reviews and videos on different setups designed to let you camp in the bed, on the roof, etc.

Has anyone invested in any of these options with their Ridgeline? What are some cool ways to set your Ridgeline up for driving off the beaten path a bit and camping out in it?

Thank you for your time.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
1,591 Posts
I've got a SofTopper and their tent that works well for me. I used to be a long distance backpacker so I have a lifetime accumulation of that stuff too. Now I use a Thermarest LuxuryMap and a Big Agnes Buffalo Park sleeping bag w/ Thermarest Neoair. So, I end up sleeping on two air mattresses. Trangia alcohol stove and Snowpeak Ti cookware. Liquor helps. And, I am unencumbered by a spouse.

·
Registered
12 Posts
You're at the point I was a year ago.
The ridge line roof like most late model cars is rated at 165 pounds dynamic load. The static load is much higher.

I just returned from a 5 week 9500 mile trip around the Northwestern United States. I was even rock crawling through the Escalante region.
I ran into many naysayers in my quest to mount a tent on the roof and not on the back.
The proof is in the pudding!

·
Registered
12 Posts
The ridge line roof like most late model cars is rated at 165 pounds dynamic load. The static load is much higher.

I just returned from a 5 week 9500 mile trip around the Northwestern United States. I was even rock crawling through the Escalante region.
I ran into many naysayers in my quest to mount a tent on the roof and not on the back.

·
Premium Member
2009 Ridgeline RTL (with nav) in Bali Blue Pearl
2,344 Posts

The proof is in the pudding!