Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

My dealer was telling me about a sealant they apply to the paint to protect it. I can't remember the name of it right now. I was wondering what most of you did when the dealer started talking about doing that? Is it needed? Did you get it?

Thanks

RidgeInTheVille

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I think is was Xzilon. He said they put it on airplanes. Anybody get it?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Nothin' more than extra dealer profit, and there's no guarantee they'll actually put it on. I was a salesman for a dealer about 11 years ago and we pushed a similar product. 3/4 of the time it was never applied; onlay a extra wash and spif!

·
Registered
529 Posts
Xzilon is a good product, in our opinion. Google it and read reports on it for yourself. One of the reasons that we chose to go ahead and have xzilon applied was that don't have a lot of time to do upkeep on our vehicles. Xzilon is like any other sealant product in the respect that it is a sealant, not a coat of armor. It does help with protecting, for a while, but it isn't the end all be all forever (what is?). Also, I think that dealerships are doing a great disservice in having their finance guy offer this because one really needs to understand what limitations are placed on your vehicle once you have Xzilon put on it. There are certain waxes, etc. that you want to avoid.

We paid $349 to have the Ridge coated. We also have premium floor mats in addition to the standard rubber ones. Those were done as well. So far I am pleased, I had a fair amount of water go on a fabric floor mat and it beaded right up and didn't sink in. With washing it and rain, water is beading up beautifully. The way I look at it, comprehensive details around here are appromixately $150 or so, and this probably will take the place of 3 or 4 of those, so I felt ok about my purchase.

Just my .02 worth.