Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on a ridgeline engine for awhile now, and I'm not a fan of the v-6 design . From a mechanics view there's not enough room to work on it comfortably, and too many moving parts. I'm no engineer, but why not use an inline four or maybe five or even six?

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
You're entering troll territory.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Gotcha what kind of vehicle do you own?
I had a 96 Sierra half ton since New 220k miles all original drive train frame finally rusted out this year.(Massachusetts winters) I'm looking for another. In the meantime I have a 01 Forrester. In the nicer weather I have a 73 nova

·
Registered
233 Posts
You should post up some pictures of the nova. Oh and do you want to talk about a pain those Subaru spark plugs are high on my list lol. Great cars though I had a Forrester XT and loved it.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
You should post up some pictures of the nova. Oh and do you want to talk about a pain those Subaru spark plugs are high on my list lol. Great cars though I had a Forrester XT and loved it.
The nova needs a paint job,it's been pretty low budget, but it's mechanically bulletproof. If you want to see it go to lebanon valley dragway website videos. It's done a 12.2 and I drive it there and back most weekends.

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
Back to the original question. It is a Honda. And Honda uses V6 engines in its larger vehicles, at least up til now. There are rumors of turbo 4's and the like in the future. The V6 is the logical choice, as it is with virtually every major manufacturer making similar sized vehicles and needing naturally aspirated engines with a little bit of torque to get those big machines moving.