Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the process of removing a cylinder head on a ridgeline. If you ever need to do this your in for a nightmare. I've been working on autos for 30 years, and I've never seen such an over-engineered pos. There's more sensors and wiring electronics in the way than I ever imagined possible. The rear exhaust manifold was wonderful, your in for a treat.

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Any pics? Would love to see the inner workings you see.

·
Registered
302 Posts
Can't you just pull off the front right tire and pull out the manifold after it's unbolted? Seems to be enough room to me. You might wanna take off the heat shield first, could be easier. (we are talking about the rear cat right? Since the manifolds are integrated into the head).

I've pulled the engine harness off the top of the engine about 4 times in the past year, it's not fun... but after you've broke nearly every connector clip on it, the plugs are quite easy to pull out.... shaved a whole 45 min off my disassembly time.

·
Registered
3,003 Posts
I've pulled the engine harness off the top of the engine about 4 times in the past year, it's not fun... but after you've broke nearly every connector clip on it, the plugs are quite easy to pull out.... shaved a whole 45 min off my disassembly time.
Connector clips...gotta love them. Well, not exactly.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Can't you just pull off the front right tire and pull out the manifold after it's unbolted? Seems to be enough room to me. You might wanna take off the heat shield first, could be easier. (we are talking about the rear cat right? Since the manifolds are integrated into the head).

You mean the heat shield that's has the rusted seized fasteners?

·
Registered
651 Posts
You'd be hard pressed to find any engine much newer than a 2000 model year or so that's not just as bad - or much worse.