Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Has anyone here ever replaced the actual seat cushion on the drivers side before? I searched on the club here but no results. If this has been covered already, could someone refer the link please?

My 06 RTL's comfort has diminished over time so I'm thinking of doing this. The leather is still in good shape but the cushion is in need of replacement.

The part that concerns me is removing the seat cover and putting it back on.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
651 Posts
Well, I'm new to the Ridgeline but I have done some work to the seats in other vehicles. It's not really all that hard to work on them. There are usually a series plastic clips and "hog rings" that hold the cover to the framework. There is usually a fair bit of work involved in getting the actual seat cushion out. Lots of electrical, molding, etc to remove but no real "have to have" special tools. Also, if your seats have the heater (do all Rl's?) then the heating elements are probably part of the padding and may be more complicated to restore - short of replacement that is. Non heated seats are usually not too hard to add some padding to in order to improve/restore their feel.
Sorry I don't have more specific info about the Rl's seats but, if you are a diy kind of guy, then it shouldn't take all that long to get the seat out, get the cover off and see what would be needed to get the seat more to your liking.

·
Registered
15 Posts