Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I installed the Dyno-lock on my 2011 RTL. It was not an easy job. I have done lots of wiring and various installs in all my previous vehicles, I am a ham operator, so running wires and cables is not new for me. My son helped me, he also has lots of experience. On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being most difficult, I would give the dyno-lock install at least a 7. I read lots of good info from various other posts here, so I will only pass-on what I did a little different. The quality of the dyno-lock is a little questionable, one of the connectors fell off as I was taking it out of the bag it came in. The directions are not very good, lots left for you to figure out.
Mounting the device was not hard and taking the truck apart was not too bad either. Routing the wire to the door is not easy. I did not take any pictures, but I will do my best to describe what I did.
The wiring in the tailgate, I followed the wiring for the camera through the tailgate and out. Right below where the wiring leaves the tailgate is the end of the truck frame. There is a hole in the end and the frame is hollow and runs the length of the truck. There are several holes near where the door entrance is. I used an electrical snake, ran it all the way to the rear, pulled the wire back through the frame. I did not use the short wire, the long wire is plenty long enough to go the whole way. The tap in connectors both broke when I tried to use them to connect into the truck wiring. The wires are different sizes, one is 16 ga and the other is either 18 or 20 ga, the snap in connectors do not work well with different size wires. I cut the truck wires and soldered all three ends together.