Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In preparation for a larger project, these replacement headlight assemblies were purchased from Amazon a while back.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00S92WJNM?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00

KHC Model.jpg

KHC Label.jpg

The overall build quality of these was commented on in this thread:
http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/...-what-do-ya-think-about-these-headlights.html

This last weekend, the opportunity to install them came to pass. Even though I had closely inspected them before installation (I was looking for ways to modify/add "ghost" back lights as an alternative to running lights without "baking" the lens covers off - similar to a projector lens mod), I totally missed how whacked the bulb head reflector was so terribly out of alignment.

KHC Reflector.jpg

I have no direct experience with headlight alignment in the RL, but if I understand correctly, the mirrored lens "floats" inside the assembly raising/lowering the beam. Meaning, the bulb remains fixed but the reflector lens assembly moves. I see no evidence of the bulb fixture being adjustable and if its mount is fixed, the reflector in front of the bulb should be "pre-aligned", do I have that right?

If it's true the bulb and its fixture remain fixed, check out how angled the passenger side is compared to the driver side:

Passenger Side Wonky.jpg

Pre/post light comparison:

OEM_KHC Comparo.jpg

Along with an out-of-box OSC radiator failure, this issue is making me wonder if I somehow crapped in the Wheatie bowl of an auto Gremlin. Or maybe Murphy has been planning an attack.

06 remains up on jacks awaiting resolution to the radiator and headlight issue. Whatever these vendors do, they better move it! Need this stuff resolved before next weekend, damn it.

I'm seeking words of wisdom from you guys before approaching the Amazon seller of these assemblies.

·
Registered