Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, let me say that I am fairly new to working on cars/trucks. I have been changing my oil for a while now, and can do really basic stuff. I have never replaced the ATF in a vehichle before, so please bear with me.

I have it in my mind that changing ATF is/should be like changing the engine oil. True?

From my searching around on this site, I didn't find an exact 'how to' for the ATF. I don't want to buy a pump to get all of the fluid out, just change as much as I can through a drain and fill.

Are there any walkthroughs that someone could point me to?

Thanks for your help.

-eSlon

·
Registered
897 Posts
There are a few threads regarding it...but the simplest method that some (ok at least I) believe in is pull the plug on the bottom, and drain it for 30 min or so. Put the plug in, pull the plug on the top and fill with 3.3qts or however much you need...go drive for about 10 miles after the truck has warmed up, come back, repeat the process 1-2 more times until you've got a pretty good ratio of new to used ATF in there. Thats what I do for the first time anyways.

You'll still have some residual of the stuff it shipped with, but as long as you're continuing to use the Honda ATF-Z1 you should be ok. This is one of the fluids (like the rear VTM-4 fluid) that you shouldn't deviate on. If you do, make sure whatever you're using has the Honda Z1 specification. I use Amsoil ATF myself and am happy with it.

If you're towing or daily driving will have an impact on it's lifespan, but the maintenance minder will give you it's input on the topic from time to time. I've always beleived fluids are cheap insurance so I typically drop mine a little more than most, so thats the part I'll leave that to you and the other folks to debate ;)

·
Registered
936 Posts
Not hard to do.