Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to be able to run the Fogs with only the parking lights and as well with headlights when needed. I've owned many vehicles over the years and so far, jeep and Chevy Tahoe are the only ones that allows this from the factory.
I asked the dealer if they could change it, or show me how. They said it can not be done...hmmm I'm an engineer and that answer just dosent work for me.
Anyone have a wiring spec on the system.. I know the install sheet for the fogs, has one, but not enough to bypass the needed circuit. I know I could run my own wire and do this on my own, but in the real world, not my dealers snooty no can do world, there has to be a way:) any help would be appriciated.
Oh ya.. my reason.. in true fog (heavy) the fogs are nice(would be nicer in a yellow light, as it cuts thru better) but when you have the headlights on as well... its pointless, you cant see well as the headlights are blinding! If its saftey they are concered over... whats safer?
If I'm wrong maybe, i'm open for another way?

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Not sure if the colour has anything to do with fog lights. It's the pattern that makes them effective. Anyway, I have aftermarket PIAA fog lamps. I haven't installed them on the RL yet, as I just took them off my old Civic.

Just splice into the parking light wire. The only problem with that is in some jurisdictions, the fog lamps must be hooked up so the headlights must also be on.

Off road use, no problem.

·
Registered
10,401 Posts
I wouldn't just add the fog light load to the parking circuit. I would add a relay triggered by the parking circuit that is sourced by the battery.