Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2007 Black RTL
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just replaced my front and side engine mounts on my 2007 this week. It wasn't too hard but I wished that I had some extra long wrenches for the bottom two bolts on the front engine mount bracket.

My mounts died within the last two years, around 110K miles, and I had noticed some rough ride issues and occasional clunking. I figured it was my struts but nope.

The front-mount was super cheap and easy to get. They are running $25-40 at this time (probably all re-manufactured). The side mount was more expensive and a little difficult to source at a good price. I got mine for $100 but they are going for $125-$150 (or more at some dealerships). My closest dealership wanted $190 for the front mount and $221 for the side mount, so shop around.

I did each on separate days. First the front mount, then the side mount. Both took 3-4 hours each, mostly because I'm an amateur so I go slow and careful.

For the front mount, I liked drwx's post instructions over rainsb's instructions because removing the fan is easier than removing the battery, tray, starter, and the rest. The only issue is the radiator coolant and you can avoid spilling it all over by just putting a cup or something underneath to catch it when you pull the hose.

I jacked up the engine with a small bottle jack and two short pieces of 2x6 wood to distribute the weight. I only had to jack it up enough to get some of the weight of the frame to pull down against the engine. Front tires were always in contact with the ground. I adjusted this up a bit later when I actually pulled the old front mount out.

First take the air intake out; three clips easy. My clips were brittle and broke but I replaced them with new clips.