Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to get a TPMS unit for my full-size spare. Can anybody tell me if I am correct that what I need are items ## 2,3, 5, & 6 from the schematic below?


#002 PartNo: 39360-S9V-A01
INITIATOR UNIT, TPMS


#003 PartNo: 39361-S3V-A00
BRACKET, FR. TPMS INITIATOR


#005 PartNo: 93405-06016-08
BOLT-WASHER (6X16)


#006 PartNo: 95701-06016-08
BOLT, FLANGE (6X16)
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
And I should also ask whether I need one #5 and one #6, or do I need two of each?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Oh man, what a knucklehead I am. Duh!

Thanks McChizzle for saving me from myself.

Wow I just checked the price at Bernardis and they ain't cheap ($62.30). I saw references to G2 owners buying sets of four from Honda for less than four of these G1s would cost from Bernardis. I am surprised the G1s are so much more expensive than the G2s. Glad I only need one!
 
  • Like
Reactions: McChizzle

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,064 Posts
I need to get a TPMS unit for my full-size spare.
Are you looking to monitor the spare tire in storage or only while in use? I don't think RL G1 (or G2) supports a fifth TPMS in the system. I've also read of problems with a fifth sensor overriding an installed wheel and giving bad result for the installed wheel.
 

·
Premium Member
2009 Ridgeline RTL (with nav) in Bali Blue Pearl
Joined
·
2,433 Posts
... Wow I just checked the price at Bernardis and they ain't cheap ($62.30). I saw references to G2 owners buying sets of four from Honda for less than four of these G1s would cost from Bernardis. I am surprised the G1s are so much more expensive than the G2s. Glad I only need one!
There are aftermarket TPMS sensors but you run the risk of them not mounting very well, lasting very long, or not communicating correctly with Honda's TPMS receivers. There are industry standards for these things but different automotive companies still build their TPMSs in different ways. For example, there are Direct TPMS and Indirect TPMS for starters; then it gets complicated, including the frequencies used by these sensors, how often they transmit data, the fidelity of the data transmitted, and more.

I don't have a TPMS for my spare because I was not planning on putting it into rotation at the time. If the price concerns you, consider skipping the sensor for now and get it latter when it's time for you to start the five-tire rotation.
 

·
Premium Member
2009 Ridgeline RTL (with nav) in Bali Blue Pearl
Joined
·
2,433 Posts
Are you looking to monitor the spare tire in storage or only while in use? I don't think RL G1 (or G2) supports a fifth TPMS in the system. I've also read of problems with a fifth sensor overriding an installed wheel and giving bad result for the installed wheel.
The posts I found on the ROC where users are talking about a fifth TPMS tire sensor are discussing the "what ifs" related to a sensor in the spare interfering with the four that are in use or the users "think" it interferes. That "what if" and "think" has proven to be wrong by those that have such sensors in their full-size spare that's carried in their service tray.

Since G2s cannot carry a full-size spare in their service tray, needing a TPMS tire sensor for the temporary spare is probably not necessary given it cannot support a five-tire rotation plan.
 

·
Super Moderator
2006 Ridgeline RTS in Steel Blue
Joined
·
7,262 Posts
Check with @Discount Tire you might want to get one from them.

As having a TPMS in the 5th position, I've read several who have done this, the only "tip" I know some were doing was rotating the 5th valve stem straight back, and I seem to recall someone having an issue when the 5 tire rotation occurred, so they rotated the 5th at home because the registering had an issue, and where ever they were wanted to "program" and charge for it.
 

·
Premium Member
2104 Honda Ridgeline SE
Joined
·
1,804 Posts
I had a full size spare in my 2011 RTS with a TPMS sensor I purchased from ebay. Worked fine...

ridgeline tpms | eBay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks for the tip on orienting the spare, Carsmak. I assume centering the valve is to keep the tpms as far as possible from the right and left rear sensors?

Heli, do you know if any of those TPMS units on ebay are oem? Or does it matter? Thanks.

And yes, my plan is to eventually introduce this wheel/tire into a 5-tire rotation.
 

·
Super Moderator
2006 Ridgeline RTS in Steel Blue
Joined
·
7,262 Posts
Yes, by orienting to the rear the extra sensor is further away from the unit in each wheel well. And the sensor isn't "continuously" reading, it's reading in proximity, I believe
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Thanks gang!

I ended up purchasing an ebay TPMS for around $21. Supposedly it is OEM -- I'll report back when it arrives later this week.
 
  • Like
Reactions: McChizzle

·
Premium Member
2009 Ridgeline RTL (with nav) in Bali Blue Pearl
Joined
·
2,433 Posts
Cool, you can't nock eBay for there prices.

I've heard that when new TPMS sensors are introduced, the receivers must go into a relearn mode so they recognize the new sensor. I've read that the Gen2 has s self-learning system (i.e. no human involvement necessary) but I don't know about the Gen1.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
...

I've heard that when new TPMS sensors are introduced, the receivers must go into a relearn mode so they recognize the new sensor. I've read that the Gen2 has s self-learning system (i.e. no human involvement necessary) but I don't know about the Gen1.
Hmmm. That is something I'd like to know more about. I assume by "introduced" you mean actually mounted and put into use? Presumably this is not an issue when the new TPMS is just sitting there as a spare?
 

·
Premium Member
2009 Ridgeline RTL (with nav) in Bali Blue Pearl
Joined
·
2,433 Posts
Hmmm. That is something I'd like to know more about. I assume by "introduced" you mean actually mounted and put into use? Presumably this is not an issue when the new TPMS is just sitting there as a spare?
Yes and probably
 

·
Premium Member
2009 Ridgeline RTL (with nav) in Bali Blue Pearl
Joined
·
2,433 Posts
I finally got rid of my front two dry-rotted tires and looked into getting a fifth TPMS sensor for my full-size spare. The dealership wanted a lot of money and said for my model year, the sensor would need to be programmed to the vehicle (no self-learning) and only four sensors could be programmed into memory. I decided to pass and would get a fifth sensor when I finally get rid of all my tires for five new ones. I have a couple more years before I get there.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top