Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 658 Posts

·
Registered
2,311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been grilling 3-5 times per week /year round, for many years - originally with charcoal but eventually moving over to propane. I loved propanes easy on/easy off, and I could always add wood chips if I wanted to. But recently I became aware of pellet cooking and made the jump (specifically I'm using a 34" Traeger Smoker).

I find it equally easy to use with nearly instant on, a quick shut down cycle, AND easier to keep clean. To me the only drawback is its capability to sear steaks. The literature (and user feedback) claims it's doable, but I can do it on my propane grill in fewer min,, not the 30 min. this type of unit requires to heat up.

So while I won't give up my propane grills (both Webers) I'm now sold on this pellet smoker. Anyone else using one?

Happy eating.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
2006 Ridgeline RTS in Steel Blue
7,262 Posts
That's on my short list of what the backyard gets next.

I have a co-worker with one, and he even made jerky on it, freaking amazing

·
Premium Member
2,166 Posts
I've been using a Brinkmann electric smoker with great success for years, but Brinkmann went out of business. I was able to buy a new water bowl for it before the parts chain dried up, so I'm good to go for the summer.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0009WG6R0/?tag=whois03-20

Now I'm eying the Masterbuilt electric smokers....

https://www.amazon.com/Masterbuilt-20072115-Bluetooth-Smart-Digital-Electric/dp/B00TJ1OZR0/ref=sr_1_2?s=lawn-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1488376354&sr=1-2&keywords=masterbuilt+electric+smoker

https://www.amazon.com/Masterbuilt-20101113-Digital-Electric-30-Inch/dp/B00BJ28G36/ref=sr_1_7?s=lawn-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1488376354&sr=1-7&keywords=masterbuilt+electric+smoker

·
Super Moderator
2006 Ridgeline RTS in Steel Blue
7,262 Posts