Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks - new member here. I'm seriously considering a '23 RTL now that I see dealers moving off MSRP to $40k and less here around Chicago. Since I'm new to this vehicle I'm seeing the endless commentary on off-road capability. When I compare the Chevy it has a listed GC of 8.2" or .3" more than the RL. I drove a 4WD Colorado for several years for a public agency that took me off-road on a regular basis. Open fields, dirt trails, deep snow and crazy slopes all in 4HI. Obviously not Moab, but I never recall ever being concerned with GC or getting stuck. I understand 4WD vs. AWD but am I missing something here? I mean does .3" difference really matter? I'd like to at least hit the better seasonal roads up north if possible.
Thanks

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, like most it's a few times a year. My point was that many think there's a huge difference between the RL and the competition when at least on paper they're not really that far apart. So 98% of the time, the RL wins the race.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Appreciate it Bill. The problem s that off-road can mean anything. I was in Michigan a month ago with my friend's Silverado on seasonal roads. We barely deep made it out of there given the deep ruts, rocks, tree stumps. When you're spending $40-50k you want everything but that's just not possible.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·