Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On 07/30/15 my left rear started squealing on the way home from work. I performed a visual inspection on my 2014 Honda Ridgeline Sport. It was easy to see the rotor, caliper and pad through the wheel. Rotor is already tore up from the drive home and needs turning or replacement, brake pad is completely gone (metal on metal).
My wife took it into the dealer on Friday morning 07/31/15. The dealer wanted to charge my wife $30 for a brake inspection. Smart wife, she called me and I spoke with the service advisor (dirty word for undercover salesman) and advised him why a visual inspection is sufficient. He advised me they would waive the inspection fee. This is not going well.
Received a call from the Service Rep and Service Mgr. telling me all the reasons why this is NOT covered under my 3 year 36000 mile warranty. I'm not an idiot, in my previous life I was a mechanic for several years and there is clearly something wrong. ie. sticking caliper, Emer. brake sticking, VSA Controls not working or possibly anti-lock brake system not functioning properly.
I called Honda Warranty and they also made a similar claim (after they put me hold and obviously called the dealer) stating it's not covered under warranty but they may do a "friendly service" after seeing I've purchased more than 5 Honda's from this dealer (the last 4 all brand new).
It's now Tuesday evening 08/04/15. I've gotten in an argument with the dealer, called Honda Warranty, have a CM assigned (Crystal) and my case was supposed to be urgent and I was supposed to be contacted by her NLT yesterday. Have not received a call yet and the dealer still has my car.