Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Green With Envy Moderator
2,346 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have any info on how capable this truck will be in the offroad arena? I have no knowledge or experience with the VTM-4 system that Honda uses.

Personally, I am not looking for a hard core rock crawlin' beast. I just wonder how capable Honda is going to make this truck.

·
2,346 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good demo of VTM-4 on Honda's site

I was poking around the Honda site and decided to check out the Pilot section. There is a good demo (a mix of silent Quicktime and Flash animation w/narration) of the VTM-4 system. Here is the url:

http://automobiles.honda.com/models/engineering_overview.asp?ModelName=Pilot

I guess we can assume that the Ridgeline will use this identical system or something very similar.

The demo mentions a user activated rear differential locker.
:D

·
Registered
28 Posts
Funny that this thread was started by someone named zero... LOL that's what I'd expect from the truck!

Ok, all kidding aside, it should be ok, we all know it's not an offroader or an actual "truck" but I'm sure it's more than capable for what it's needed to do. I've heard very good things about the handling from everyone I know who has driven it.

·
Registered
28 Posts
I do, I work in the plant in Alliston that builds Ridgeline, Pilot and MDX... So I do need to be careful what I say but all my friends who have driven it say it behaves beautifully in high speed handling tests... Nice looking truck too, could use bigger wheels though (couldn't everything?) I love the green.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Dont get me wrong I'am a big fan of this truck but I dont think I would bring this truck off road for any reason. Dirt country roads yes, but anything rugged and rough no way. I'd stick to the Hummer 1 for that or may a equipped Land Rover or such.

·
Registered
167 Posts