Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2007 Silver RTL with J37A1
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Been hijacking another engine swap thread for a bit and thought I start my own so here I am.

Disclaimer: I’m not a mechanic, just a dude who likes to work on cars. Learn as I go kind of DIYer. So please take everything I say or suggest with a grain of salt. Please do your own research before attempting an engine swap. I’m not responsible for damages done to your vehicle.

Engine: J37A1
Donor: 2008 Acura MDX with about 200K kilometers.
Recipient: 2007 Honda Ridgeline with 340K km
Reason for swap: Noob mistake forgot to tighten camshaft bolt after changing seal. o_O Timing belt jumped and valves kissed the pistons.

The J37A1 is very identical to the J35. Almost everything fits like factory aside from some minor mods.

The J37A1:

Im gonna get right into it. Like I mentioned earlier, the J37A1 is identical to the J35. It will perfectly mate with the RL transmission without any mods. You just have to use the J35 flywheel. engine mount positions, valve covers, pulleys etc...everything fits like a glove.

Even though the MDX manifold is lite and made out of magnesium, I opted for the RL manifold simply because of the ease of direct swap and not have to drill holes for additional sensors or worry about intake fitment issues/clearance. Also, unlike the 2010+ MDXs with larger IM/T-body opening, the J37A1s from early MDX has the same throttle body diameter as the Ridgelines J35.

The thermostat housing of the RL has an sensor.

The VTEC solenoid oil sensor also needs to be swapped out from the J37 as it is different from the J35.

While I had the engine out I replaced all the seals with OE Honda. This includes the rear main, crank seal, oil pump O rings, camshaft seals and rings, and valve cover gaskets. I also resealed the oil pan and pump with Hondabond.

Replaced the timing components with Aisin timing belt water pump kit: