Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, folks! My 2008 Ridgeline has 140,000 miles on it, most of it trouble free. Other than replacing the power steering pump and hose and a catalytic converter, all I've really done is basic maintenance and wear (i.e., brakes and tires). The truck's in very good shape overall--needs the driver's seat cushion replaced, the upholstery is from that year that stained if you look at it wrong, and has a little rust on the bottom of the two rear doors. I'm really considering fixing the cushion, recovering the seats or getting good covers, having it repainted (and take care of the rust), and trying to get another 60,000 to 100,000 miles out of it. Any thoughts on what might fail on me in that time period, or what issues might come up? Thanks!

·
Registered
2018 RTL-E
62 Posts
While I am not an expert on 1st gen Ridgeline, expected automotive troubles would include Timing chain/belt (do this asap!), alternator, starter, and radiator. Plugs and wires wouldn’t hurt either.
All said, less than $2500 total, which is still WAY less than a new truck. If you like what you got, why upgrade? Not having a truck payment is a pretty good situation.

·
Registered
2,501 Posts
My 08 RTL is free from rust and drives as well as it did the day I drove it off the showroom floor in 2008. It's recently been in the body shop for a 3rd time in the last year ( it's spent over 6 weeks in a body shop) for "injuries" suffered by at fault drivers. So it only has 314,000 miles. If I can keep it out of the body shop, it will easily go another 100,000 miles as everything works as it did when new. The mpg even raised a tenth in the last year. Until a year ago it averaged 16.9 and now it's 17. This thing is just getting broken in.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #4