Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
It is my first time of having the smart key since I got my G2, I started to do some research on how secure key fob is. It is not too difficult to find articles talk about this on Internet and this is quite alarming. Basically if you are at home you have your key fob on 2nd floor, the hackers/high tech car theft can come near your house using a $20 repeater from eBay to amplify the signal of your key fob. It tricks your car's computer thinks that you are physically around the vehicle. They can then open the door as well as start the engine, once the engine starts it no longer needs the key fob around.

If I got the information correctly, this is how I understand key fob works - basically it keeps sending a pulse at around 315 MHz in a certain interval 24/7. Unlike the old style remote control, the signal is transmitted only if you press the button. This is the problem. See this article.

https://www.wired.com/2016/03/study-finds-24-car-models-open-unlocking-ignition-hack/

There are couple of ways I found on Internet to protect this, I tried both of them and they BOTH worked - putting the key fob in a metal box as well as wrapping with aluminum foil. If you don't want your G2 stolen from your driveway, I recommend these. I am not sure if Honda Ridgeline/Pliot has the special immunity to these relay/repeater hack, but I would wrap my key fob at home as precaution. This is not new, I just want to share with G2 community who are new to smart key like me. Hope this helps and raise the awareness on these high tech gadgets.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,253 Posts
If I got the information correctly, this is how I understand key fob works - basically it keeps sending a pulse at around 315 MHz at a certain interval 24/7. Unlike the old style remote control, the signal is transmitted only if you press the button. This is the problem. See this article.