Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The OEM Michelins on my 09 RTL just hit 50k -- still have more in them. But I have a long, steep, curving driveway, goes uphill to the road. (When my wife had a Camry, she'd make it halfway up in the snow, spin it around til it was facing downhill on the grass... She drives a Pilot now...) My last truck was a Suburban, and I loved my Toyo LT's. No problem ever on the hill. These P245s do okay, but I'd like to go to a year-round tire with a more aggressive tread. I know enough about tires to buy a set every few years... But I'm no expert. Why can't I find an LT or A/T tire in the OEM rim size (245/60/18)? Suggestions on a more aggressive tread? I'm not worried about a bit more noise or slightly harder ride. I want traction on snow -- without buying winter snows. Thanks for any advice!

·
Registered
121 Posts
My nephew who sells tires for a living is recommending Michelin LTX A/T 2 for my 2007 Ridgeline which has LTX M/S OEM tires in 245/65-17. The A/T is described as a On-Off Road All-Terrain as opposed to a Highway All-Season for the OEM tire. He installed the A/T tires on his sister-in-law's Pilot when she lived in Colorado. Does anyone have any experience with this tire?

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
Firestone offers the LE2 all season tire that looks pretty aggressive for an all season. I was going to go with them but what I got beat them by $100.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ridgestalker: Consumer Reports rates the Michelin LTX A/T very high. It's what I'm looking at. CR says the Cooper Discoverer A/T is good, too. Weird thing is, I can't get the 245/60/18 size on TireRack.com website. I'll have to call them. Anyone know what the latitude is on tire size, if I want to use my OEM rims?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7