Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
An earlier thread referenced problems with illogical information from the navigation system. I've had some recent experiences that may help focus further attention to this issue. I'm on a cross-country trip, so I've had experiences in several areas.

While driving from San Diego to Aspen, Colorado, the navigation system worked perfectly. Although it somewhat overestimated the time it would take, I was driving on a Sunday morning (to start with), so no traffic to speak of and was driving about 8 mph over the speed limit most of the time. Hence, it seems logical that I would beat the expected time.

While driving from Aspen to a small town in Nebraska, the system stated that some of the route was uncharted. I modified the trip in the navigation sytem to the closest major town, and selected a street the navigation system provided. Still got the same message. The total miles given for the trip appeared pretty accurate, but here's where the problem came in. The estimated time involved was completely ridiculous and always to a particular hour (i.e. defaulted to 28 hours or 27 hours or whatever). This would adjust as I drove, but to an hour, not to a reasonable time estimate. Even more bizarre, the half screen directions for the trip, with each segment giving miles and estimated time, didn't add up to the miles or time given as the total. This really seems absurd to me.