Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please excuse me if I did not post this correctly, I am new to this.

I have a dilemma and hope you guys can lend your advice?

When I purchased my ridgeline, unbeknownst to me, there were defects in the paint. I guess I should have purchased the vehicle in the daytime, but did not think about paint defects. There are little specks of dirt or something in various spots on the vehicle. The dealer said that they could get them repaired by sending it to a local paint/body shop. The paint shop tried to color-sand them out, but that just took off the top layer and made them more noticeable. So instead of Billet Silver bumps in my paint I now have dark, almost black, tiny dots. The dealership called in the district manager to take a look at it and he said in order to fix it properly, the outside whole vehicle would need to be repainted. I was told that if I want to forgo the repainting they might be able to give me some accessories to appease me. I was also told that even if the vehicle was repainted it might have the same problems or it even could come out worse since they would be using an independent paint/body shop. In addition, they told me that the sanded areas were not down to the metal and that it would not corrode in its current state. I told him I would need to think about it.

Being anal, it is tough for me not to get it fixed properly but on the other hand, the possibility of getting some accessories out this might be better. Unfortunately, they have not given me a dollar amount on the accessories I could get, but a new paint job would cost anywhere from $4k - $6k (according to the paint/body shop) not including the cost of a rental car they would have to provide for approximately 3 weeks.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Should I get a new paint job or get some accessories?

·
Registered
112 Posts
Let me ask this....