Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All-

So I am ~900 miles into my Ridgeline owners experience and I come at you all with a hearty hello and a question:

Anyone use a Gunner kennel or similar, CRASH tested in a Ridgeline bed? I'm not a hunter or a sportsman so this is just not something I have a lot of experience with, our use case would be to transport our mutt (part Great Pyrenees-- ~65 lbs) with us on some of our family vacations. My wife wants him to be able to get some AC-- so I figured I might be able to pipe some out of the sliding rear glass by creating a plexiglass insert with a hose running to the kennel. For her, the manufacturer suggested fans are just not enough.

Aside from your opinions about whether this is a good thing to do for my dog ( I get it.. some of you will not agree ), does this seem feasible? Secondarily, what are your experiences with a similar setup if you've had one? For reference I live in the South East US. I am a first time "truck" owner-- my previous vehicles being a 2000 Nissan Altima, a 2002 Ford Mustang a 200x VW Jetta 1.8 T (can't remember) and a 2009 Honda Civic Si.

I'm giving you this context to be fair about my past lack of experience with a vehicle like this. All that said, I have driven plenty of trucks over they years of various different sizes and makes-- just never been a private owner.

So far we are enjoying it quite a bit.

Best,
rc325

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Farther -- thanks for your reply.

If I didn't have two children that would be riding with us for most of these excursions that would be a palatable solution. I use to have a GS who went by the name of "Vader" and your dog looks very happy!

Appreciate the feedback.

Best,
rc325

·
Registered
1,471 Posts