Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning to purchase a used G1 RL and have a question about the digital odometer.

Does anyone know, or has anyone heard of whether it is possible to tamper with the digitial odometer used by Honda in the Ridgeline? Or is there something about the design that makes it "hack" proof?

I am looking at model years 2012-2014, in case that matters. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,795 Posts
I am planning to purchase a used G1 RL and have a question about the digital odometer.

Does anyone know, or has anyone heard of whether it is possible to tamper with the digitial odometer used by Honda in the Ridgeline? Or is there something about the design that makes it "hack" proof?

I am looking at model years 2012-2014, in case that matters. Thanks.
Nothing is hack proof, but there are some other aspects of ODO memory to consider.

I'm no expert but I can describe the gauge panel ODO sensitive journey I took on another Honda vehicle - in this case an 01 Accord coupe.

First: ODO memory is contained in EPROM attached to the gauge panel CCA (circuit card assembly), just above the ODO LCD. While I can't provide factual evidence, I believe the ODO display and EPROM are addressed to one another - in other words, if someone were to attempt removing EPROM for the purpose of replacing or reprogramming, the ODO would fail to recognize the information it is being fed - meaning ODO no worky.

EPROM is inside the red circle:
GaugeODO.jpg

The read/write path to EPROM is thru one of the multi-pin ports, top-o-the-gauge panel assembly. I suppose a really dedicated hack oriented geek could fashion a hardware and software solution to access EPROM in its native state, but that probably isn't practical from a financial reward perspective:
GaugeTop.jpg