Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I have a 2008 Ridgeline RTS that I've had for about 5 years. Recently I've been getting into off-roading (nothing serious like scaling boulders but just for some fun) and as of now everything is stock on my truck. Ive been looking into getting a lift kit and upgrading the tires. I am new to all of this so I really have no idea what to ask for when I go into tire shops, and when I do they all look at me funny when I ask questions. I guess my question is where do I start, and what suggestions does anyone have for lift heights, tire sizes, rim changes, and potential total costs for the mods.

This might be a long shot, but also I was hoping other RL owners that live in the Chicagoland area, and who have done these modifications to their truck, might give me reliable businesses in the area where I can go to get this done. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
379 Posts
The standard truck tires are mostly set up for highway, not off roading. They can be pretty decent in snow and rain, however.

A/T or all-terrain tires are better offroad but still have decent highway manners. I think of these as the best compromise for a truck that still sees a lot of pavement but drives on more than a gravel road. I had these on a Tacoma and plan to put them on the RL.

M/T or mud-terrain (maximum traction?) tires are built primarily for off-roading and howl on the highway. They are also worse in the snow due to the large tread blocks. They look "cool" but the tradeoffs are too great for the look alone.

2" lifts are about all you can do on this truck, and the camps are split as to whether they put undue stress on your axles or not. They don't really offer you much in the way of clearance to run larger tires, however.

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
Step 1. Go to

There's you lift