Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks,

Got a 2006 with the engine light on and code P0420. Bought a few months ago...has $130k miles. Mechanic has quoted $900 for a new catalytic.

I am not a mechanic... but am handy, have tools, just replaced both front struts myself. Yay me! Haha

Looking for advice on how to do this myself. Any help greatly appreciated... I dont have a lift. Just 2 jack stands. I did read on another post that this can be done from above the engine with the hood tied all the way back.

Which of the 3 cats is P0420?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
41 Posts
That's the cat on the rear bank. I'll be doing one on a Pilot next weekend and I expect it to be tight without a lift.

·
Registered
228 Posts
I’ve read the same about the cat not necessarily being at fault.

What’s your altitude?

Last year when I took the family out west with our camper, I got a PO420 when we were in Colorado...as soon as we came down out of the mountains, the code went away...oxygen deprivation seemed to trigger the code...

It could be I have o2 sensors that are ready for replacement but since the lights been off, I haven’t paid it any mind.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Any of you all have a diagram of which cat the P0420 code is?

What is Bank 2 and what is Rear Bank?

Thanks!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
All the stuff I see online says Bank 2 is on the front side of the engine. What am I missing?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Bank 1 is the firewall side #1 #2 #3 cylinders. Bank 2 is the radiator side #4 #5 #6 cylinders.
Bank 1 sensor 1 is on top next to the fire wall. Bank 1 sensor 2 is under the truck next to the firewall.
Bank 2 sensor 1 is on top next to the radiator. Bank 2 sensor 2 is under the truck next to the radiator.
The p0420 is "Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold"