Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased 2007 Ridgeline with about 60K miles. About 2 years ago, we let it sit for a few days and needed to jump it to get it started. It continued to do this and finally drained the battery so dead you couldn't open the doors. I'm now on my third or fourth battery. I already changed the AC relay. I love the truck, but at this point I'm sick of it dying all the time. Looking for some cables I can attach to battery that I can access with hood closed so I can open door. Also have a 2015 TLX and it does same thing, but you can unlock and open doors when it dies.

·
Registered
38 Posts
I had the same thing - only on a new RL when I installed an aftermarket horn and the wiring was bad. I'm far from a mechanic but I would start with any aftermarket alterations, like the horn, lights, etc.

·
Registered
2007 RTL Steel Blue
490 Posts
Disconnect the negative battery cable and using a multi-meter, connect one end to the loose cable, the other end to the battery terminal. A constant draw of 0.03-0.075 amps is acceptable. If the constant draw is higher than 0.03-0.075, using a test light, tape one end of the light to the loose battery cable, tape the other end to the battery. If the key is off and the doors are closed (dome lights off) the test light should not be on (or it might be on but very dim due to components that require constant memory power). A bright test light obviously indicates a high draw.

To locate which system is creating the draw, remove one fuse at a time until the test light turns off (or drops to a very dim glow). The 1st fuse you need to remove is the one that controls the dome lights. From there, go one circuit at a time. Better to do this test with a muti-meter, but it's easier to see the light change from a distance as you're removing fuses than it is to read a meter.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5