Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I'm new to the ROC (been lurking for a few weeks). I was able to get a white RT at $500 over invoice ($25,978), and the dealer threw in a factory tow package for free. I think I got a little shafted on my trade ( $9,500 for my '01 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab AWD w/ tow package and some extra bells & whistles, 56K miles and clean), but overall I think I made out OK. My only problem is that my wife likes the Ridgeline too much! She insisted on taking it to work today instead of leaving it home for me to play with! Waaaaa!

As for the shopping experience, I went to three dealers last Thursday, and every one of them refused to budge a cent on the MSRP, although their trade-in numbers were anywhere from $8,500 to $12,000. When I commented on how they were all refusing to give me a break on the sticker price, they all answered that my Dakota was "only worth $8,500" and that they could give me that for my trade and take the extra off the MSRP instead if it would make me feel better. Ah, the Numbers Game....

I ended up sending out an email quote request to another dealer who came back with the $500 over invoice offer. A little negotiating, and I had myself a new truck. This guy was no-pressure, no-hassle. I think it was his attitude more than anything that made the sale. Don't get me wrong--he wanted to sell me a truck. But he wasn't obnoxious or pushy about it and was willing to go the extra mile when needed.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to Christmas this year. I think rear splash guards and maybe fog lights might find their way under the tree....

--

JafaDog

·
Registered
626 Posts
Congrats on your purchase, and welcome to the ROC! Get yerself a nice ROC sticker for xmas too, while you're at it... it'll look great on your white truck!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4