Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007. The rear catalytic converter has a hole in it or is leaking from some point I can feel exhaust gas coming out from behind the shield. My question is if I were to remove that converter and put a pipe in its place would it trigger any codes? It's after all the emissions sensors. Has anyone done this ? I can't find one locally and the dealer want a huge amount of money to fix it.

I'm a welder and it wouldn't be anything to remove the old converter and weld in a pipe.

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
No. That cat is not monitored. Depending on your smog laws it will be needed when smog is due. But if you are a good welder..I am sure you can weld the hole up and not worry about it. Some vehicles have small drain holes for when condensation forms it can drain out. Usually after mufflers though and pointing down which is probably not your case.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the message. I live in New York and I know we do plug-in obd 2 for inspection but they don't check your exhaust gases or anything like that if you have no service engine lights are usually good to go. For the $15 it's going to cost me for a new pipe I'm thinking that I'll just cut out the old converter and put in the Peacepipe and see what happens. The worst that happens is I have to buy a new welding catalytic converter for $100

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
The "care about environment part of me" says to get a cat in there. But it is your truck. Do whatever the pocket book allows. You will be fine.

·
Administrator
16,090 Posts