Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you could pick one or the other - a rearview camera or backup sensors - which would you choose? They're both pretty expensive, and I'd appreciate comments on the relative merits of each.

·
Registered
774 Posts
I'd vote for the backup camera. On my wife's pilot it has one and I must admit they are pretty neat. The clarity is very good for such a small screen.

L

·
0 Posts
I'm an old truck driver...still prefer the original back up sensors.
Eyes, Ears and Mirrors!! :D

·
Premium Member
5,392 Posts
There was no contest in my opinion. We went for the backup camera and we don't regret it a bit.

We've never had either. I was especially nervous about the blind spot while backing the Ridge. I'm only 5'5" and I'm sure that's part of it. I'm used to seeing much more out the rearview mirror. The rear headrests had to go too (unless we have passengers).

When it came to the merits of each, one of the things that won me over is simply the "cool" factor of the backup camera. The view is awesome, though we didn't discover that until after we had it installed.

Our backup camera gets a lot of ooohs and awwhs when we show off our truck.

Here's a link where I posted photos of what I can see with the three mirrors and what the back up camera shows.

http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/forums/showthread.php?t=563&highlight=back+camera

·
Registered
774 Posts
Nice link. I agree the backup camera is a great device. Now if I had one too:rolleyes:

·
Green With Envy Moderator
2,346 Posts
I went for both. We have both on our '05 Ody and I was definitley going to get both for the Ridgeline.

·
Registered
236 Posts
My wife's Pilot has the camera and it is very cool. My kids love watching it while she backs up. It reminds me of the cameras on some planes where you can watch takeoff and landing. :)