Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I own a billet silver NAVI RTL received 4/1/05. Already 4K on the Odometer,

I have already been with it off road in Hollister and Pismo.
Both have produced less than perfect experiences. I have been offroading for 20 years and used CJs, TJS and 2nd generation 4runners. I even used a Chevy avalanche once.

The Ridgeline central differential lock must be used in any off-road low traction situation but it will only work in gear 1 and 2 (2nd gear is not usable in anything but ice/snow) and when driving very slowly.

Even when locked the traction management gets overwhelmed in slippery or sandy situations between the demand for more horsepower and trying to prevent wheel spin.

The departure angle is tolerable but the approach angle is unacceptable. I did end up losing the whole front plastic undercover $20 and the radiator drain $20. All fasteners had to be replaced $35 with the new cover I purchased. The first thing that meets the insufficient approach clearance is the plastic cover so be warned.

When using the Ridgeline in mud (Hollister) I found that the body is designed more like a Honda Accord than a Jeep. There are numerous hollow plastic panels front and rear that collect mud in quantities and won't let it out. I managed to wash it clean but it took 3 hours. The panels mentioned are very susceptible to paint and body damage when off-road.

The truck is too low and too long to negotiate any real trail that is more severe than a rough dirt road, as it will high center on trivial mounds. Also the articulation is poor and traction control when not locked is slow to deal with the airtime the different wheels are getting.