Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i realize some of my questions have been answered already in this forum. however i have some more questions regarding driving in the sand. I'm from ny & renting a house down in the outer banks in nc in a month or so. i already know the precautions about getting stuck as well as the usual procedures such as lowering down the tire pressure between 10-15 psi, pulling the 2 fuses under the hood & use my head as far as common sense goes. also, only hit the 4-wheel button on the dash ONLY if i get stuck & once rolling disengage. one question is I'm not sure if something is wrong with my 4-wheel button on dash since it does not light up, whether a quick press or i hold it down & release. possibly my fuse is bad? another thing is once i hit the sand i realize i must take out tire pressure. since I'm a contractor i will bring w me my air compressor which goes up to 120psi but i need power since there are no outlets on the beach, LOL! i stopped by my local auto zone & found some Duralast inverters that hook up directly to the truck battery. my issue is what wattage is needed & what is overkill? they have a 400 watt(800 peak), a 750 watt(1,500 peak) & a 1,000 watt(2,000 peak). also any other concerns i should be aware of & am i good to go.......because my wife & i really, really want to rent this house directly on sand which has about a 3 mile drive on the sand. thanks for all your help!!!

·
Registered
1,259 Posts
VTM-4 Lock only engages in first, second, or reverse, not Drive.

Unless you need the inverter for other purposes, I'd recommend buying one of the all-in-one inflator pumps and battery jumpers. They run about $60 and are very handy to have around for inflating all sorts of things as well as for emergency jump starts. They take awhile on four big tires, but are so convenient otherwise I love 'em.