Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is probably similar to the other Sensor versus Camera thread but a little different. I live in the North-East, where snow is a regular occurrence in the winter as well as really cold weather. While I do have the Navigation unit to tie the camera into, I am concerned that in really cold weather the lens may fog over or just not work making it a very expensive but useless tool. I have no experience with cameras on cars, so I am really concerned that it work consistently. I don't see the advantage to installing both, and given my experience in car repair (nil) I don't know if I am going to be able to tackle an install of the camera myself so it is going to be above $1k to get the camera.

Does anyone with one of the other vehicles with camera know how well it works in very cold weather or in temperatures that can vary by over 50 degrees in a single day? And are your cameras mounted in a similar fashion to the Ridgeline's? The story today about the sensor saving someone from hitting a kid really makes me want to do something soon, because we have kids up and down on this street all the time.

·
Registered
361 Posts
install the sensor first. It warns the driver and people behind the truck with beeps. If you install the hitch sensor, you can move from car to car.

The camera is only good for the driver and only if you look at it in good weather. However, I would install a camera behind a trailer if you have the extra cash.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Discussion Starter #3