Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been contemplating purchasing the VanTeck p300 rack for my 2014 ridgeline.
I mostly would use it to help me transport my old town 17’ canoe and perhaps some bikes in the future. Right now I actually port the canoe onto the truck OEM roof rack by using a step and climbing into the bed of the truck. Let me tell you it’s a very difficult process.
I would imagine this would make it easier.

Things that are holding me back....

the quality of the product and how it stands the test of time?
How it looks on the truck when not transporting anything.
The cost... I got s price from customer support at CARID of 517.99 that a huge discount but I’m still not convinced.

Can someone convince me or talk me out of this purchase? Lol

·
Registered
7 Posts
I mostly would use it to help me transport my old town 17’ canoe and perhaps some bikes in the future. Right now I actually port the canoe onto the truck OEM roof rack by using a step and climbing into the bed of the truck. Let me tell you it’s a very difficult process.

The cost... I got s price from customer support at CARID of 517.99 that a huge discount but I’m still not convinced.

Put the vantech on mine to carry a heavy 18 foot tandem kayak. Found it easiest to leave the back rack off for loading/unloading. With 2 people, simply lift the front onto the bed, wheel it forward, lift to the front rack to support it, hop out of the bed, one person lifts the back, other pulls the kayak from a rope on the front, once it’s on the front rack and roof racks, one person lifts it about an inch to allow the back rack to slide under, and the other installs the rear rack. Takes about a minute.