Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to replace the stock subwoofer with a better quality unit in the stock location, behind the back seat. From the pictures here, it looks like I can simply find another 8" or so subwoofer.

Will I be able to find a replacement that will be unamplified and compatible with the stock wiring, and if so, where? I am not looking to install an amplifier, replace the stock HU, etc. I'm just looking for a simple solution to improve the sound quality on my stock system.

·
Premium Member
2,111 Posts
Lots of folks are going to tell you that there is no point in upgrading the OEM sub driver, I'm not an expert in audio, but I'm thinking a simple driver swap and/or stuffing the OEM enclosure with acoustic batting might yield surprisingly good results. Spending $20 on a driver would be a huge upgrade from the OEM poo. :)

Seems to me you need to know as much about the OEM driver paramaters as possible as well as the volume of the sub box and port specifications, then you could go shopping for a sub that would make the most of the OEM enclosure and available power.

To profile the driver, one would need to track down the manufacturer specifications or use something like this

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=390-806

Since the enclosure is plastic and has lots of contours, ribs, etc. measuring the volume is as simple as filling it up with water and seeing how much it holds. :)

Any audio 'pros' want to jump in and 'pimp' the OEM sub?

·
Registered
5,705 Posts
Don't do it, you will not get good or better results. Get a bazooka 6.5 inch for back there or ask Ian how to get a box built with the driver he used, for under $70 you can improve the sound.

There are no good shallow 8 ich drivers to get good results either unless you are willing to add an amp

·
Registered
2,334 Posts