Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I searched to forum and couldnt find a similar posting.

Ok, I'm new to Honda but have fallen in love with the Ridge. I know historically Honda has used a timing belt on their engines. However, I recently heard the 4 cyl is now using a timing chain. So, do we have the usual 90k mi concern of a belt or is there a chain in that engine?

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Hello Tux, the manual reads that the timing belt should be replaced at 105,000 miles (normal driving conditions). Hope this helps your research. :cool:

·
Registered
3,056 Posts
bongus said:
Hello Tux, the manual reads that the timing belt should be replaced at 60,000 miles (normal driving conditions). Hope this helps your research. :cool:
I thought the V-6 engines had a chain...that sux that it's a belt considering how expensive it is to change.

·
Registered
2,009 Posts
then what the deal with the 105,000 mile tune up? is that the time to change the timing belt for honda when you reach or come near that mileage?
seing a reference to a 105,000 mile major tune up usuall tells me that the timing belt is a chain.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks Bongus,

60k isn't appealing, how much does that run, parts and labor? Sorry, my nissan had a chain and went forever or last I saw it at 150k it was still running strong. It's not topic that's going to keep me from buying the RL but I just want to know what I'm getting into.

·
Registered
578 Posts
Belts require more maintenance, but they are less complex and more importantly, they are quieter.

The belt changes for 4 cylinder Honda engines usually run about $250 (not at dealer).

·
Registered
3,056 Posts
Looks like you guys were right:

From here:
Smart Maintenance Warnings: Includes oil life and service code displays for tire rotation, air cleaner replacement, ATF replacement, spark plugs, timing belt, coolant and VTM-4 fluid service

·