Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 147 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While driving, the connection between the transmission fluid line and the radiator broke and all transmission fluid and radiator fluid leaked out. Ridgeline was towed to Honda dealer and initially told that this was due to corrosion and it would not be under the warranty and that I may have to change the transmission. I will know more in the next few days. Although the truck is more than five years old, it only has 84,000kms. I use it as a second vehicle.

Daniel

·
Super Moderator
2008 Ridgeline RTS in Billet Silver Metallic
23,363 Posts

·
Registered
635 Posts
Did they tow it with all four wheels off the ground ?

What tipped you off that the tranny went empty ? How many miles long was the trail?

:act014:

·
Registered
31 Posts
I'm a Honda Tech, and I have had one RL come in with the same problem. I put a radiator in it only, and it was fine. As long as you were not trying to move it, it probably should be fine. Have them start with the radiator and road test it before you spend the $$ on a trans.

The line breaks off right at the radiator, there is a line that threads into the radiator which the trans hoses attaches to. The line breaks out of the radiator.

·
Super Moderator
2008 Ridgeline RTS in Billet Silver Metallic
23,363 Posts
I'm a Honda Tech, and I have had one RL come in with the same problem. I put a radiator in it only, and it was fine. As long as you were not trying to move it, it probably should be fine. Have them start with the radiator and road test it before you spend the $$ on a trans.

The line breaks off right at the radiator, there is a line that threads into the radiator which the trans hoses attaches to. The line breaks out of the radiator.
Did it look like this?
http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/forums/showpost.php?p=525309&postcount=6

·
Administrator
7,334 Posts